Simple Assault & Domestic Violence
An assault charge does not need to cause injury; instead, it only needs to be considered offensive by a reasonable person.
My name is Chad Foster, and I handle assault charges in Snohomish and King counties with an office conveniently located in Bothell. A conviction for any assault charge can result in a loss of employment, fines, and jail time, which is why you need a strong criminal defense, Assault Lawyer. I realize how important it is for those charged with assault to make sure that their side of the story is known to the prosecutor and judge, and that the accused receive aggressive, fair, and thorough representation.
4th Degree Assault
Simple Assault, which is also called 4th Degree Assault, is the most common assault charge in Washington State. A simple assault can occur by touching, hitting, or attempting to injure another, or intentionally placing another in fear of injury by a physical act. However, merely threatening another person does not constitute assault in Washington.
The charge is a gross misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine, with no mandatory minimum unless it has been designated as domestic violence. A simple assault can be tried as a felony depending on your criminal history and any additional circumstances – for example, if a weapon was involved.
Domestic violence is defined as a threat or physical harm that is committed against a person who is a roommate, family member, or a current/past intimate partner. When there is a domestic relationship, then a domestic violence designation is added to the assault charge.
A domestic violence designation increases the sentencing severity. When you have been charged with domestic violence, it is critical that you cease contact with the alleged victim in order to prevent a violation of any court orders that prevent contact.
A Domestic Violence Assault – in the 4th Degree – is a gross misdemeanor punishable by the following:
- 0-364 days in jail
- Up to $5000 fine
- Loss of gun rights
Aggressive Defense Against Assault Charges
The Law Office of Chad Foster has a firm belief that every case has opportunities to vastly improve your situation. You can rest assured knowing that every effort will be placed into have your charge dismissed. If you have been charged with 4th degree assault, and especially if it has a domestic violence designation, then it is important to call us at 425.785.8679 as soon as possible. When facing a serious charge like this, your attorney will need as much time as possible to gather evidence to find an effective defense to your charges.
Call 425.785.8679 or email my law office to schedule a consultation.