Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

dui

If you have been arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI/DWI) or have received a citation for DUI in Washington State, then you are facing one of the most serious traffic offenses that can be handled in District or Municipal Courts.

If your blood alcohol level (“BAC level”) is .08 or greater, you are facing two cases that you must defend: an administrative and a civil case in which the Department of Licensing seeks to suspend or revoke your license, and a criminal case in which you are subject to mandatory jail time (even for a first offense) for up to one year, a fine up to $5,000, license suspension, SR 22 (high risk) insurance for 3 years, ignition interlock installed on your vehicle, and you could be subject to deportation if you are not a United States Citizen as well as other mandatory penalties.

A DUI conviction cannot be expunged in the future.

You can be charged even if you are BELOW .08. The law provides that you cannot drive a motor vehicle if you are affected by drugs or alcohol. You can even be charged for DUI if you are driving after taking your prescribed medication by your own doctor. If you are a minor you can be charged with DUI if you have a BAC level of .02 or greater. Having the right lawyer is critical.

Chad Foster is a trusted Washington lawyer serving Snohomish and King counties with an office in Bothell. Contact us today to discuss your legal issue.

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy